Wollongong City Council

The council for the city of Wollongong, New South Wales. Formed in 1947 with the amalgamation of four local government areas - the Shire of Bulli, the Shire of Central Illawarra, the Municipality of Wollongong, and the Municipality of Northern Illawarra, Wollongong City Council is one of the largest local government authorities in Australia, employing more than 1,000 staff with an annual budget expenditure nearing $200 million.